The Snake Bearer Dawns!


Editor's Note: An absolutely non-fashion related post that i decided  to write because I love fantasy and mythological stuffs, especially  Greek Myths.

Remember how obsessed you were at one point in high school or middle school about your horoscopes? Well, I was and I think most of you people out there were too at some point.

It’s okay to admit it. It’s like a dirty little secret and our guilty pleasure.

How you felt that what was written about the horoscope was so true and it really tells something about yourself.

Like myself, a Libra (or I think I am) is said to be an indecisive person, hence the scale in the sign, which I found true but then again maybe it was all just a coincidence.

But here’s the truth, what you have been reading about your horoscope for the last dozens of years in your life had been wrong.

Just a few minutes ago, I found out that there are actually 13 horoscope signs now because of the change in the Earth’s movements of some sort.

So let us welcome, Ophiuchus, the Serpent Bearer that slips in between Scorpio and Sagittarius, thus creating the massive change in the dates.

Ophiuchus is a large constellation located around the celestial equator. Its name is Greek (Ὀφιοῦχος) for ‘serpent-bearer’, and it is commonly represented as a man grasping the snake that is represented by the constellation Serpens. Ophiuchus was one of the 48 constellations listed by the second-century astronomer Ptolemy, and it remains one of the 88 modern constellations. It was formerly referred to as SerpentariusEnglish pronunciation: /ˌsɜrpənˈtɛəriəs/, a Latin word meaning the same as its current name.

According to Wikipedia, the man in the constellation can be a few people, Aclepius, great healer that can keep death at bay that was killed by Zeus to prevent mortals beomcing immortals, or Apollo, God of Sun and Prophecy when he was fighting the serpent for the Oracle of Delphi plus a few more other speculations.

Also, apparently there was always 13 signs but the Babylon’s astonomers who created them thinks that 13 is a inauspicious number thus they hid the truth.

Whatever it may be, now brace yourself and embrace your new sign.

Also, lessoned learned here is horoscopes cannot be trusted that much. What you do is up to yourself. As for me, despite the talk, I still love Libra more and I had been comfortably living my life thinking that I am a Libra, so why stop now?

So, till my next post, Au Revoir!

Comments
2 Responses to “The Snake Bearer Dawns!”
  1. Zachary says:

    Ophiuchus is in between Scorpio and Sagittarius; this would make it the 9th zodiac sign.
    Of all 13 signs, why Ophiuchus?

  2. Rachael Jamie GARTHSON says:

    Greetings, I was brought up to believe that I’m a Pisces…Now with the thirteenth starsign being recognised, I wish to discover if I am a different sign & what that sign is…How would I go about this? Thank you…

Leave a Reply

