The Eastern Blow!


For the last two season, one can’t help but notice the presence of Asian Models in the runways, the most prominent of all, is of course the beautiful Liu Wen – known of becoming the first Asian model to walk Victoria’s Secret fashion show in 2009/10.

That aside, what I am noticing as well as informed by American Vogue’s December Issue’s article, Asia Major is that Asia is becoming a prominent part of the fashion industry. Well, the entire world has their own fashion industry in their respective countries but what I mean is Asia joining the Holy Four of fashion – New York, London, Milan and Paris.

Though when I say Asia, what I meant was mainly China and perhaps Japan.

The first signs were the appearance of Liu Wen in Victoria’s Secret and then more Asian models in the Holy Four runways like Du Juan, Tao Okamoto, Hyoni Kang and Bonnie Chen.

Then comes Dior, opening their resort show in Shanghai and Vogue/CFDA Fashion Fund might go into China as well.

And like the economy, fashion houses started to focus more into Asia, meaning the market probability in Asia as China becomes one for the major powers and Chinese has more buying power than ever.

It might come as a surprise to most but for me, I kind of know that it is coming. You see, when I am staying in Melbourne, I notice one thing.

On Collins Street stores (all the major brands), most patrons in stores like Gucci, Louis Vuitton and Chanel are Asians. They are there all the time but sad to say, I am not one of them (I do go to window shop but not actual transactions).

And tonight as I write this, I was watching a Chinese movie, The Perfect Wedding, I keep seeing brands coming.

To those who watch Hong Kong films/dramas, you know that previously the actors/actresses will mispronounce the names of brands (Ferragamo mainly) and though they hint branded items, you never actually see the products.

But in this particular film, I see Birkins, Chanels and Burberry’s Floral Taffeta trench coat in several scenes and s was in other films and dramas that I have seen recently from Hong Kong.

So I conclude one thing from my discovery, China is striking the fashion world hard and is here to stay. So embrace yourself to the Eastern Impact.

And as a Chinese myself, I am proud of this.

Till than, Au Revoir!

Leave a Reply

